Mr. Perkins and his cats

Okay. How many of us have been obsessed with Andrew Garfield? I think after the release of The Social Network and The Amazing Spider-Man, people have gone totally nuts about Andrew Garfield. I always thought he was talented and handsome and all that, but there is some kind of charm he lacks to put him on the list of the most talented and gorgeous actors. Wait, what? What does Andrew Garfield have to do with the title of the post? Well, if you love Andrew Garfield, you have probably already noticed the amazing resemblance with none other that Anthony Perkins! Yes, the man who has portrayed Norman Bates a lot of times, the man who, to me, has the most amazing persona among all of the actors and actresses in the old Hollywood era. (except James Dean and Orson Welles, of course).

I must admit, even thought I am an avid movie lover,  I didn’t watch Psycho until 2 years ago. Oh NO! How could I have missed that pleasure? You know, sometimes you hear so much about a certain films ever since you are born, that you get bored of hearing about it and people talking about it and praising it and you start thinking that it can’t be that amazing! It’s gotta have some flaws! Most of the time, I watch “classics” like this for one and only reason – to watch the classics. And, a lot of times, I have been very bored. But Psycho was something else, and it wasn’t until the thought-to-be character dies that you realize you are watching something totally different from everything you have ever seen! And it’s not only the sudden plot twist that drives you mad, it’s the man who plays Norman – Mr. Perkins.

I must admit, I was SWOONED when I first saw him. I had never seen Perkins before, and I thought that the psycho was just a manic psycho and that’s it. But the way Perkins plays the psycho, is just of any one’s league. The man IS a legend and I could go on and on about his sensitive side shifting with his insane side and his MAD face at the end of the film and his brassy, kind of childish voice and his swift movement of a scared child.

The thing about Perkins was that one could say that he is too sensitive for this world. One can see that in his interviews and his movements and his expression, and the most important thing: in his photos with cats. What am I talking about? You will see yourself. Judging from the photos, Perkins was an avid lover of cats, which we can’t say about women. This fact drives us to a conclusion that Perkins was a fragile, kindhearted person who could never have become a celebrity today because the showbiz world of today would be too harsh for him to handle, and it is totally understandable.

Here,  I present to you the cuteness overload.

a8dc6bc96d26846db851920cf64690ab anthonyperkins_CAT Stars: ANTHONY PERKINS. (Newscom TagID: apaphotos411840) [Photo via Newscom] download perkins-2_206633885 tperkinscat tumblr_lafzvxkctk1qca5p3o1_500 tumblr_m27ldnxCCD1qaxihzo1_500 tumblr_m27leqqee21qaxihzo1_500 Siamese Cat on Anthony Perkins' Shoulder

and look at this! Orson Welles and Anthony Perkins laughing their asses off! So cute!

Nicolas Tikhomiroff The Trial Directed by Orson WELLES 1967 tumblr_lttomdHomW1qjbtfno1_500.

And finally my personal favorite, Anthony Perkins napping between the takes of the Psycho!

Anthony-Perkins-sleeping-between-takes-on-the-set-of-Psycho-1960.

Leave a comment